Avrim Blum
Professor and Chief Academic Officer
Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
6045 S. Kenwood Ave.
Chicago, IL 60637
email: [firstname] at ttic.edu.

The Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago (TTI-Chicago, or TTIC) is a PhD-granting computer science institute focusing in the areas of machine learning, algorithms, AI (robotics, natural language, speech, and vision) and computational biology, located on the University of Chicago campus. We are a bit like a self-contained, free-standing department of machine learning, algorithms, AI, and data science. We have tenure-track faculty (currently 11), limited-term research faculty (currently 12) and PhD students (currently 30). See also our colloquium, distinguished lectures, young researcher seminar, and 2018 TTI-Chicago Summer Workshop Program.

My main research interests are in machine learning theory, approximation algorithms, on-line algorithms, algorithmic game theory / mechanism design, the theory of database privacy, and non-worst-case analysis of algorithms. Some time ago I also did work in AI Planning.

I am Program Chair for the 2019 Innovations in Theoretical Computer Science (ITCS) Conference. I am also on the Organizing Committee and Workshop Co-Chair for the STOC 2018 Theory Fest, on the Program Committee for COLT 2018, and on the SafeToC committee. Recently I was on the organizing committee for the STOC 2017 Theory Fest and on Program Committees for STOC 2016 and COLT 2014. I also co-organized the STOC 2013 Workshop on New (Theoretical) Challenges in Machine Learning. For more information on my research, see the publications and research interests links below.

Publications Research Interests
Survey Talks Courses Taught
My SODA 2015 talk on New Directions in Learning Theory and a short essay.
Blum, Hopcroft, & Kannan, Foundations of Data Science (as of June 2017).

Current PhD advisees: Nika Haghtalab (co-advised with Ariel Procaccia).

Past PhD advisees: Prasad Chalasani, Santosh Vempala, Carl Burch, Adam Kalai, John Langford, Nikhil Bansal, Martin Zinkevich, Shuchi Chawla, Brendan McMahan, Nina Balcan, Shobha Venkataraman, Mugizi Robert Rwebangira, Katrina Ligett, Aaron Roth, Or Sheffet, Pranjal Awasthi, Liu Yang, Ankit Sharma, Jamie Morgenstern.

My older web page at CMU.

[Last updated May 2018]